Long Weekend at Taipei 101 (Part II)

DSCF1659

So this is the continuation of the post from before on my trip to Taipei 101 with Pietro! I wanted to talk about something quite personal that has always been a part of my life. I’ve always had a fascination with luxury, and I was raised to deny that part of me as something superfluous and unnecessary. I think there’s a time and place for not taking the superfluous and “being materialistic,” but at the same time, there’s a time and place for luxury.

I find in Asian countries, people use luxury products as a status shower-offer. I’ve noticed in Europe (at least in Italy where I’ve lived), they tend to buy things they don’t really have the money for (at least, it’s money you could use to invest in upleveling yourself instead), not to show off but to “enjoy life.” Neither is right nor wrong, but I find some level of materialism and affording superfluousidity inherent in all of it, which never matched up to how I felt about myself.

It wasn’t until recently that I understood that these don’t have to be the case for luxury. I personally told myself “I don’t have the resources for that” and stuck with inauthentic choices in shopping for many years, and what I realized is that it isn’t even about the money or the luxury or the brand. It’s about how you feel about yourself, how you feel in your skin, and who you deem yourself to be. I don’t believe in making a lot of money in order to buy the things you want, nor to I believe in spending money you don’t have to claim you wear Chanel. What I do believe in, is in matching vibrations, and constantly moving yourself to the next level.

I bought a Burberry raincoat years ago that I still absolutely love and it’s still brand new, super high quality and gorgeous, but to me this purchase is not meaningful, because I had used my parent’s money to buy it. I desire to come to the place where this purchase is me, because of who I’ve become, because of the amount of “me” and my gifts I’ve offered to the world that I’m genuinely, authentically proud of, and that I can say without a shadow of a doubt, that this is me. I’ve done this with incorporating juicing into my life, and it means so much to me today.

I think it doesn’t matter what shows up in your life, what matters is your intention behind doing everything. I have a super deep, sweet desire for seeing myself with a gorgeous Chanel purse, and finally getting the classic Burberry trench in my wardrobe. That will come in time, because it is my desire and I have faith in my desire. It is not a desire for the item, it is a desire for who I wish to become. That’s the way I’m focusing on playing the game, and one way or the other, I know that these things are already mine, joyously, and abundantly.

This is one of the reasons why I love coming to Taipei 101 and enjoying the energy of the mall. Like the Tiffany experience, I feel so much more me when I’m in this space, and the negative little voices of the little saboteur feel so small in the presence of this beautiful place. I love my life no matter what, and I love my desires fully and thoroughly.

DSCF1645

DSCF1653DSCF1654

DSCF1655

DSCF1656

DSCF1657

DSCF1658

DSCF1660DSCF1661

DSCF1662

DSCF1663

DSCF1664

DSCF1666

DSCF1667

DSCF1668

DSCF1669

DSCF1670

DSCF1671DSCF1672DSCF1673

I was wearing:
Shirt by H&M
Sweater by ALFRED SUNG
Jeans by UNIQLO
Bag by NINEWEST
Trainers by UNITED COLORS OF BENNETON

Photos by Pietro

tmc blog signature

Leave a Reply

