The Winery

DSCF1449

Ok, a post about wine should really be done in Italy, my second (or third) home, but given that I’m not in Italy right now, this winery in the section of a Japanese supermarket in Taipei will do. In this post, I wanted to share three red wines my partner and I enjoy in Italy that can be found in most places in the world.

Red wines are pretty much the only alcohol I still drink, and although I’ve been a bartender since I was 17 years old, I only came to really appreciate red wines when I did a wine tasting in Tuscany. It was the first time I felt really connected to understanding wine – I was in the place where they made wines on the spot, and the energy of the place (beautiful Tuscany) gave me a very visceral appreciation for wine. I love red wine, and while I stopped drinking for a good period of time, red wine continues to be a treasure for me.

The first wine we wanted to share is Barolo. Barolo is a great large dinner wine. The first time I tried it was one my father in law (well if we were already married he would be my father in law) bought for Pietro to bring to his very first Thanksgiving at my philosophy professor’s house for dinner. Barolo is usually from the North of Italy, and it’s a very strong, rich wine. It’s quite strong for my taste, but I’m also very much a girl when it comes to wines I like – I like very light wines, not sweet, not too dry but with a woody taste. Barolo isn’t really that category, but it’s an incredible wine that’s quite hefty but not too overpowering, which made it perfect for a Thanksgiving dinner. My professor who loves red wine really loved this one. We were told to air it for about half an hour to an hour before drinking it.

The second wine is wine from Tuscany – Brunello di Montalcino. This is where I did my wine tasting, and I got to taste a very pure Brunello while I was there. Brunello is one of the most famous wines from Tuscany (or all of Italy). It is also a strong wine in my opinion, but definitely not as strong as the Barolo, and it has a very distinct, smooth woody taste, which I love. Whiskeys were my preferred liquor and Brunello definitely gives that vibe. My favorite wine of all time is the Rosso di Montalcino, which is similar to Brunello but much lighter and smoother, as the Brunello is aged a couple years longer than Rosso.

The last one is the Dolcetto, recommended by Pietro, as I haven’t tried it. It’s similar to the Rosso di Montalcino because it’s not as aged as the other ones. It’s considered quite light, so I’d be very interested in comparing it with the Rosso di Montalcino. Like the Barolo, it comes from the North of Italy, and unlike the Barolo, its name is “little sweet one,” indicating its light, easily drinkable nature.

I love going into these wine cellar sections of the grocery store to check out what’s around. After living in Milan for a few years I really got an opportunity to appreciate wines, as they’re just so cheap there compared to anywhere else I’ve lived, and taste so much better at the same time. It’s such a luxury that I’m really grateful for, and I encourage you to try out a wine tasting in Tuscany if you can – if not, try out these wines as starters! Then tell me which one you like the most!

DSCF1441

DSCF1450

DSCF1440

DSCF1442

DSCF1443

DSCF1444

DSCF1445

DSCF1446

DSCF1450

DSCF1447

DSCF1448

Photos done by Pietro ❤

tmc blog signature

Leave a Reply

