My Bedtime Routines

2003-01

DSCF1393

Today I had a great day with my man and my family, playing lots of badminton and doing a bit of shopping beforehand. I had dinner with my family and friends at The Spice Shop, a really delicious Indian restaurant that I love, which always makes me super happy! I came home quiteΒ  and knew I would pull out my bedtime routine to relax and unwind me into bed-time ready, so here are some photos to share (in my pjj’s)! I find it’s a great way to take care of yourself to have some bedtime routines that unwind you. It really puts you in a great state of mind for some really good sleep!

Sometimes my bedtime routines change, but here are a few pieces of it:

1. Yoga – I’m not super flexible nor have I been doing yoga for years, but I love using yoga to connect to my body and calm my mind. I love how meditation is embedded into yoga, so sometimes I do have some meditation habits, but other times I include it in my yoga. It really makes a difference to my day when I can start and end it with a short session. I also am a very modern girl, and I do a 6-8 minute routine only, which ensures that I do make space and time for yoga in my life. Some techniques I love in bedtime yoga are meditation, alternate nostril breathing (as you’ll see below!), stretching, twists, and shoulder stands.

2. Water – during the night we go without water for 6-8 hours, so it’s important for me to have a little bit of water before bed – not too much that I really need to pee badly in the morning, but enough to keep me hydrated throughout the night.

3. Journaling – this is sometimes variable as I don’t journal every night, but sometimes when I feel I have a lot to say and I desire to share, I journal to get my minds out on paper and reveal new awareness. I also sometimes have the practice of doing gratitude journaling before bed. I have an app on my phone that I use to record the things I’m grateful for.

4. Reading – I always read before bed, even when my eyes are shutting on me. I love how I pick different things to read when I am sleepy, usually it’s something like Conversations with God that really gets me connected to the purpose of my life and give me a sense of peace and love. I love my kindle and having many books on it to choose from as I please.

5. Pillow Mist – I love my L’Occitane pillow mist! It smells so good and so natural, I happen to really love the mix they have! It feels so indulgent like a treat to spray my pillow this this pillow mist before bed!

6. Sleep time with Teddy Bear Boris and my man!

2003-02

2003-03

2003-04

2003-05

2003-06

2003-07

2003-08

2003-09

2003-10

2003-11

2003-12

2003-13

2003-14

2003-15

2003-16

What are some of your bedtime routines? I’d love to hear them!

tmc blog signature

All photos by Pietro

2 thoughts on “My Bedtime Routines

  1. I feel sleepy already!

    My ‘ideal’ are similar to yours and depending on where I’m living and what I’m doing, I sometimes manage to enjoy my beautiful bedtime routine but as a minimum, I generally stop eating several hours before bed and stop drinking at least 1 or 2 hours before bed although if thirsty, I will have a little drink and I almost always either read or listen to a book, something similar to or sometimes including, conversations with God and I always count my many blessing and close my eyes with a big heartfelt smile of my face, love in my heart and total gratitude for this gift we call life and I will often include many of the things I have been specifically grateful for that day ~ I used to write out a gratitude list every night, for many years, then review it in the morning but it’s mostly all done in my head these days. I sometimes journal, like you, and sometimes when I don’t want to but I sometones get called to write stuff down, so I do.

    And I often send love and gratitude to the people I love and the people I don’t like πŸ˜‰ that always makes me smile because even if we don’t like them, we can still love them because they are, after all, simply us πŸ’•πŸ’žπŸ’–

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your bedtime routine Neikka, I agree, there’s something just amazing about the energy of gratitude and inviting it into our lives really changes everything – absolutely love the feeling! I love incorporating it when I can, I used to do it morning and evening but now it’s more unplanned as I don’t want to force anything.

    Thanks for sharing I loved hearing from you love!! xx
    Catt x

    Like

Leave a Reply

