A Trip to the Juicery

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Anyone who met me in college knows that I started on the big juice wave well before it was an “in” thing to do. Well before organic made it into commercial grocery stores, well before cleanses and juiceries were a thing, and all the while when green was not the new black. I got a lot of weird looks and raised eyebrows from people doing early morning laundry in the dorm laundry room, as that was the only place where there was a large enough sink in which I could wash my juicer. (Imagine: two grocery bags – one with about a kilo of fruit and veg, the other with a juicer, a blender, and mason jars – slung over my shoulders at 7am walking down the long hallways of college dorms with spilled alcohol and red cups from the night before, to make a juice on Saturday morning).

Anyways, the other week my sister and my man and I went to a really great juicery the other day in Taipei. It’s called Genie and I believe the original store is from Hong Kong. We got a great green smoothie there and despite it being quite far it was very much worth the trip. I loved sampling the juices they had for sample, and we ended up getting Smooth Operator with spinach, banana, apple, chia seeds, avocado, and vanilla.

The place is super nice and clean, very chill and I loved the vibe. I always love juiceries because they’re so modern and chic – no clean up, no grocery shopping, just fresh juice at your command. My favorite juicery is Pressed Juicery, but it’s in California so I guess that’s not an option now πŸ˜‰ It’s always great to have a nice juicery in Taipei, and a great place to hang out after school and work with two of my fave people

Here’s a recipe of my attempted remake of the smoothie we got:
Genie;s Smooth Operator – Catt’s RemakeΒ (Serves 2)
1 ripe banana
2 medium sized apples
1/2 small avocado
1 tbsp chia seeds
1 tsp vanilla extract
2-3 handfuls of spinach
2 cups of water
Wash and prep all produce. Place all produce into a blender, chia seeds last, and blend until smooth.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

tmc blog signature

Disclaimer: I am not affiliated with Genie in any way – just had a fun trip idea one day with my sis and boyfriend!
Genie’s address is:Β No. 83, Zhouzi St, Neihu District, Taipei City, 114, Taiwan
Genie’s Website

Leave a Reply

